ennoob.blogg.se

Forgot password for mac admin account
Forgot password for mac admin account












Now that I've confessed, I place myself at your mercy.

forgot password for mac admin account

I've disgraced myself by admitting that I hit return for my passwords. Click padlock icon, then enter the admin name and password again. Choose System Preferences from the Apple menu, then click Users & Groups. Log in with the name and password of the other admin account. I sure hope you guys can straighten me out. If you know the name and password of an admin account on your Mac, you can use that account to reset the password. All this leads me to believe that Apple may have planted or reserved the term "System Administrator" for some elusive purpose, I dunno. I can, of course overtype "System Administrator" to FOOBAR999 or whatever I named as my admin username, hit carriage return, then Disk Utility works. just to see what would happen, I tried creating an account named "System Administrator" and it wouldn't let me. So, I look at my list of users and there is no "System Administrator" listed per se' and I didn't create one and name it that.

forgot password for mac admin account

Excuse me a second while I hypervenelate. I haven't tried my root pw, but I will when I get home (gasp, hope I can remember it). So I tried my own password (which is simply a carriage return since I don't use a password) - nope, no go. Username reads "System Administrator" (not admin) and the password field is then blank. This limited guest account can be used to allow users to reset their Active Directory password with a browser and Password Reset Server.

forgot password for mac admin account

#Forgot password for mac admin account mac osx#

I can boot into it normally with admin rights and without being challenged for a password.Īll is fine, until I run disk utility, then I am challenged for. The Mac OSX Operating System, starting with Lion, has a guest account mode that allows a user to log in to the Mac operating system with limited functionality, such as a browser. My emergency (2nd internal drive) is where the wierdness comes from. My primary volume (internal drive) boots up normally without challenge and password since I elected not to use a password (yeah, I know it's shameful to do that). First, thank you very very much for your replies.Īs a sole user of that Mac, I'm admin no matter what.












Forgot password for mac admin account